The whiskyregion of Speyside lies between the Loch Ness, the Moray Firth, the Grampian Mountains and the North Sea. The borders are the Findhorn and the Deveron and between Inverness and Aberdeen there is a distance of 130km. The main production area is about 32 km long and 50 km broad and the centres are Elgin, Rothes, Dufftown and Keith. The most important rivers are the Findhorn, the Losseie, the Spey, the Fiddich, the Dullan, the Boogie and the Deveron. Speyside malts are whisky´s where the own character of the malted barley is very dominant. They are the most complex whiskiy´s of all and they are elegant, fruity with sweat estery notes and a light peat character. They are smoother than highland malts. About 50 distilleries lies in the speyside region. Before 1824 there were only two official distilleries here. Strathisla foundet 1786 and Dalvey at Grantown o Spey (1798-1824). Eight at first small farm distilleries are still in operation today. These are Aberlour, Cardhu, Glenlivet, Linkwood, Macallan, Miltonduff, Mortlach, Glenburgie and Balmenach. In 1840 started the next distilleries like Glen Grant, Glenfarclas, Dailuaine and Dufftown. Between 1886 and 1899 during the time of the whiskyboom there has been built 23 distilleries which are still in production today. Between 1958 and 1975 another 10 distilleries started their distillation. The glen of the Livet ist the heart land of Speyside and this region is like that one in the Grande Champagne. About 20 distilleries felt themself near the Livet although only four distilleries are still there. 1860 there were called some 50 km away distilleries "LIVET" distilleries.

Deeper classification of Speyside:

Findhorn whiskysTomatin, Dallas Dhu, Benromach and Glenburgie (Glencraig)
Lossie whiskysLinkwood, Glenlossie, Mannochmore, Coleburn, Benriach, Glen Moray, Miltonduff (with Mosstowie), Longmorn and Glen Elgin. The Lossie is one of the shortes rivers and it flows through a main barley growing region.
Upper SpeyDalwhinnie, Speyside, Balmenach, Tormore, Cragganmore
Lower SpeyGlenfarclas, Dailluaine, Benrinnes, Aberlour, Glenallaichie, Craiggelaichie, Glentauchers, Auchroisk, Inchgower, Knockando, Tamdhu, Cardhu, Imperial, Macallan, in Rothes Speyburn, Glen Spey, Caperdonich, Glen Grant (first official license in Rothes 1840), Glen Rothes. The spey ist the second largest river in scotland and it has its source in the Loch Spay in the Corrieyairach Forrest in the Mondliath Mountains. It forms the Strathspey near Grantown o Spey.
Livet whiskysGlenlivet, Braeval, Tamnavulin, Tomintoul but only Tamnavulin and Glenlivet lie beneath the river.
Fiddich and Dullan whiskys in Dufftown (founded 1817 by James Duff, Fiddich and Dullan flow here together): Glenfiddich, Balvenie, Convalmore, Glendullan, Pittyvaich, Dufftown and Mortlach and in the glen Allt a Bhainne. The well known seven stills were Glenfiddich, Balvenie, Convalmore, Parkmore (closed down 1931), Dufftown, Mortlach and Glendullan (all built between 1823 und 1898). 1975 there was Pittyvaich founded and 1992 Kininvie.
Strathisla whiskysin Keith Strathisla, Strathmill, and Glen Keith, Aultmore and Knockdhu in the glen. In Keith there is alcohol registered since 1208, 1786 there has been built the first distillery.
Bogie and Deveron whiskys Ardmore, Glendronach, Banff, Macduff (although the whisky is named Glendeveron) and Glenglassaugh